Goodwood’s rich and vibrant land was first named Goodwood in 1839 when the land was granted to the South Australian Company (TheSouth Australian Companywas formed in London on 9 October 1835 to develop a new settlement inSouth Australia). Goodwood (as with the broader City of Unley) began life as a series of large rural holdings that were sold prior to settlement. Once the colonists arrived, the land was subdivided and small villages sprang up to cater to the new residents.
The 1840 census shows that there was a Village of Goodwood with a population of 100, but the first registration of a contact for sale was not until 1846. In 1849, Arthur Hardy subdivided his property into a number of four acre blocks, naming it Goodwood Park.
For many years after initial settlement, residents of the ‘villages’ in the district relied heavily upon the small town centre of Unley for postal services and supplies, particularly settlers in the Goodwood area. Goodwood was primarily an agricultural district and there were reported to be about 35 families in the district. But as settlement progressed each village was a hub of commercial and social activity with its post office, bakery, stores, pub, institute, blacksmiths and other tradesmen's workshops. Schools and churches flourished.
In the 1850s Goodwood Road was developed as a main service road.
See: How Unley Developed
See: The State Library
Goodwood Orphanage (St Vincent de Paul's Orphanage)
The Goodwood Orphanage, then known as St Vincent de Paul's Orphanage, was established in 1888 and remained in operation as an orphanage until December 1975.
In 1888 the Catholic Church purchased the property from the estate of the late W.D. Hewer for £3,500. The land was purchased with the support of Mr J.F. McBride and his wife, Mary Ann, who contributed over two thousand pounds towards the purchase price. The Goodwood Orphanage typically housed between 100 and 120 children.
In 1976 the Orphanage was purchased/resumed by the State Government. The site was then leased to the Education Department, who used the site as a teacher training facility and upgraded the open space areas to include basic recreation facilities for students. Later, Tabor College purchased the allotment with the buildings, using the facility as a multi-denominational Christian Education Centre offering government-accredited courses at tertiary level.
See: The State Library
See: Tabor Adelaide
Built by RJ Nurse and designed by architect Mr Chris Smith the cinema first opened its doors In Goodwood in October 1941 as the "Star Theatre", and was part of the Clifford Theatre Circuit. The opening event was a double feature from MGM of ‘Florian’ which starred Robert Young and Helen Gilbert, as well as ‘Dr. Kildare Goes Home’, starring Lew Ayres & Lionel Barrymore.
Greater Union acquired the cinema in 1947 as part of their acquisition of the Clifford Circuit. The cinema was renamed as the "New Curzon" in 1964, then again as the "Cinema Capri" in 1967. In 1978 The Theatre Organ Society of Australia (South Australian Division) Inc. purchased the cinema and re-launched the cinema as the "Capri Theatre", installing the now famous Wurlitzer theatre organ. The inaugural concert took place in April 1983.
In 1986, Crocodile Dundee played at the Capri Theatre. The incredibly success of the film, it played at the cinema for almost one full year enabled TOSA (SA Division) own the Theatre outright. Today there is a framed ‘Crocodile Dundee’ movie poster on display at the Theatre, recognising the films important historical significance.
In 1990, the cinema was placed on the South Australian State Heritage Register.
See: Capri Theatre
The Royal Adelaide Show moved to the Wayville site on Goodwood Road in 1925. From 1939 to 1946 The Showground was occupied by the Armed Forces for the duration of the Second World War as the mobilisation, training and subsequent demobilisation centre.
In 1995 The Royal Adelaide Show was awarded an SA Tourism award in the Most Significant Festivals and Local Events category and the Australia Day Award for Best Community Event in the Unley Council Area.
In 2006 The Royal Adelaide Show was added to Bank SA's Heritage Icon list.
Our Community – Community Facilities and Events
Unley Swimming Pool: Nestled in neighbouring Forrestville, the Unley Swimming Centre is situated on Ethel Street just minutes from the vibrant Goodwood Road precinct, and is a favourite facility in the community. In 2004 the Unley Swimming Centre, which has provided immeasurable health, fitness, learning and social benefits to the local community, underwent a $3.6 million refurbishment including a new main swimming pool and equipment and a new change room facility.
In October 2012 the Unley Swimming Centre, together with the Unley Amateur Swimming Club (one of SA’s oldest swim clubs), celebrated 50 years with a family event at the centre.
Goodwood Oval & Playground:
In 1918 the Unley Council, during the creation of Millswood Estate, purchased ten acres of land for ₤3000 for the development of a public recreational space. This was the birth of Goodwood Oval which has played an important role in the local community for almost 100 years.
Goodwood Oval is now the home of The Goodwood Saints Football Club, Forestville Hockey Club (the oldest club in Australia) and the Goodwood Oval playground.
In 2011 The Goodwood Saints Football Club celebrated 100 years of Football in the Goodwood area. Establshed in 1985 the Goodwood Saints Football Club was established through the amalgamation of Goodwood Football Club and St. Raphaels Football Club.
See: City of Unley
The Goodwood Institute, opened in 1928, is a versatile and attractive performance venue.